Delta Three Newly Established Universities Gets Vice Chancellors

ASABA/Nigeria: The Delta State Government has announced the appointment of New Vice Chancellors for the newly established University in the State.

The announcement was contained in a statement signed by the Secretary to State Government, Mr. Chiedu Ebie, on Monday April 26, 2021.

In the announcement, the appointments is with immediate effect with

A Deputy Vice Chancellor, Management Services, of the University of Lagos, Prof Ben Oghojafor as the Vice Chancellor of the new established Denis Osadebey University, Anwai, Asaba.

Also appointed is Prof. (Mrs.) Stella Chinye Chiemeke as the Vice Chancellor of University of Delta, Agbor. She is the current Rector of the Delta State Polytechnic, Ogwashi-Uku.

A former Rector of the now converted Delta State Polytechnic, Ozoro, Prof. Jacob Snapps Oboreh was announced as the Vice Chancellor of the University of Science and Technology, Ozoro.

The statement stated:

“It is hereby announced for the information of the general public especially Deltans that the Governor of Delta State, His Excellency, Senator, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa has approved the appointment of Vice-Chancellors for the three new Universities established by the State Government as follows:

“Prof. Ben Emukutia Akpoyomare Oghojafor – Denis Osadebey University, Anwai, Asaba; Prof. (Mrs.) Stella Chinye Chiemeke – University of Delta, Agbor, and Prof. Jacob Snapps Oboreh – University of Science and Technology.

“The appointments are with immediate effect”, the statement read.

Until his appointment, Prof Oghojafor, was a Deputy Vice Chancellor, Management Services, University of Lagos. He was also a former Dean of Faculty of Business Administration, and Professor of Strategic Management.

Born on February 1, 1959, Prof Oghojafor hails from Abraka in Ethiope East Local Government Area of Delta State.

He had his first degree in Business Administration (1984), Masters Degree in General Management (1987) and Doctoral Degree in Strategic Management (1992/1993). He became an Associate Professor in 2000 and Professor in 2004.

Similarly, Professor Chiemeke, until her appointment was the Rector of Delta State Polytechnic Ogwashi-Uku. She obtained a Bachelor of Science Degree in Computer Science in 1986 and a Master of Science Degree in Computer Science in 1992, and in 2004, she obtained her PhD in Computer Science from the Federal University of Technology, Akure.

Chiemeke started her professional career first as a programmer (1986-1987) and later as the Head of Computer Centre of the Edo State University (Now Ambrose Alli University), Ekpoma (1987-1994).

In 1994, she switched to teaching career when she joined the services of the University of Benin, Benin City, as an Assistant Lecturer. Prof. (Mrs.) Chiemeke rose to the position of a Professor in 2009 to become the second Female Professor of Computer Science in Nigeria.

While Prof. Jacob Snapps Oboreh is a professor of Operations Research & Mgt. Dept. of Business Admin. Delta State University (DELSU). He was a former rector of the Delta State Polytechnic, Ozoro, where he recorded landmark achievements in the institution’s infrastructure.

Related posts

Leave a Comment